Odroid emmc speeds

I’ve found out this link that shows some speed benchmarks, on the Raspeberry PI, for some SD cards and disks: RPi SD card benchmarks.

For comparison, my data:

Odroid C1+ with 32GB emmc:

root@odroid:~# hdparm -T /dev/mmcblk0p1 
/dev/mmcblk0p1:
 Timing cached reads:   1494 MB in  2.00 seconds = 746.46 MB/sec

My Seagate 2TB on my DS212+, also driven by an ARM processor:

root@DiskStation:/volume1/homes/root# hdparm -T /dev/sda1

/dev/sda1:
 Timing cached reads:   832 MB in  2.00 seconds = 415.24 MB/sec

The flash pen that holds the operating system on my old and faithful NSLU2:

root@nslu2:~# hdparm -T /dev/sda1

/dev/sda1:
Timing buffer-cache reads:    78 MB in 0.51 seconds = 155972 kB/s

And finally my Crucial SSD disk on my desktop computer:

[root@pcortex:~]# hdparm -T /dev/sdc2

/dev/sdc2:
 Timing cached reads:   16804 MB in  2.00 seconds = 8408.63 MB/sec

The conclusion? Not bad for the emmc. Recommended over an SD card? I think definitely. Expensive? Well, yes…

Leave a Reply

