Linux: Slow or unbearable performance with high memory usage applications

Well this post title is a bit vague because the issue that have affected me can have several sources, not just the one that I’ll describe. But I suppose the solution is the same independently for all sources.

Anyway, I was suffering from a strange problem on both my computers, the desktop has 6GB of RAM, and the laptop, 16GB.

On the desktop machine, where I use KDE 4 on Arch Linux, the desktop can froze when using some resource intensive applications like Google Maps on Firefox or Chromium and Android Studio. When the frozen desktop situation happens, I just have to wait a few minutes, during which time, the keyboard is irresponsible and the mouse is “jumpy”, or doesn’t work at all. And so after a while, one random application, that could be anything, including the desktop, is killed, with some cryptic message regarding sacrifice on the system logs…

Anyway, on the Desktop, due to the fact that I’ve upgraded the main disk to an SSD, I didn’t enabled the swap partition. And that was one of the main reasons of this behaviour that I was having. Despite having 6GB of RAM, a swap file is good to have, and so I’ve used a swap partition on one of the spinning disks.

That apparently stopped the issues on the desktop and it never froze like it used to when performing the same tasks.

On the laptop it was another matter, mainly because of the fact that it only has a 120GB SSD disk, and no spinning disks, I had no swap file/partition created or enabled. I though that with 16GB of RAM, why bother… but due to professional related activities, I had to start to work with the HortonWorks HDP 2.3 big data/hadoop platform, and that is a heavy resource hog…

So, despite of having 16GB of RAM available, the Hadoop virtual machines based on Vmware could make the computer just froze for lenghty periods of time, just like my desktop computer.

But, now I know that was related to fact that I didn’t have a swap partition/file, and so I’ve created one.

The swap file solution for this specific case didn’t solve completely my issue, but I did managed to see a process named khugepaged consuming huge amounts of CPU.

And that was the reason that I had for my frozen desktop and virtual machine for some lengths of time.

So I’ve disable the Huge Page support on my host operating system, AND on my guest CentOS virtual machine that is running HDP 2.3:

[root@dune:cortex]# cat /sys/kernel/mm/transparent_hugepage/enabled
[always] madvise never
[root@dune:cortex]# echo never > /sys/kernel/mm/transparent_hugepage/enabled

[root@dune:cortex]# echo never > /sys/kernel/mm/transparent_hugepage/defrag
[root@dune:cortex]# cat /sys/kernel/mm/transparent_hugepage/enabled          
always madvise [never]

More info can be obtain here:

http://docs.mongodb.org/manual/tutorial/transparent-huge-pages/

So this might not be the magic bullet if we are having desktop freezes, and not using huge amounts of RAM, but it might help.

2 thoughts on “Linux: Slow or unbearable performance with high memory usage applications

  1. Everybody seems to get this wrong. Even Oracle, MongoDB, et. al. It’s not khugepaged causing the slowdown. it’s the synchronous memory defrag. You don’t have to turn off THP. Set “transparent_hugepage/enabled” to “always”. Set “transparent_hugepage/defrag” to “madvise”. Set “transparent_hugepage/khugepaged/defrag” to 1. And you can also tune scan_sleep_millisecs if you like. The default sleep is probably way too large for many systems. On my 256GB system with ~80GB anonymous pages and 20 cores, I had to set mine to 10 ms (default is 10000 ms) in order to get maximum 2M page availability..

    • Thanks for the clarification. At first look it seems that it’s is khugepaged, but that can be one of the resulting problems, not the root of them.

Leave a Reply

