md5deep and hashdeep on Synology DS212+

My personal photos are located at my desktop computer, and I have backups of them on my Synology DS212+ and my old faithful Linksys NSLU2 with an external disk.

The issue that I have now is that to keep backup times short I only backup the current year, because, well, the other years are static data. Previous years are already backed up and that data is not to get modified. Right? So what if corruption happens? How do I detected it? How can I be warned of such event? Right now I have no method to check if my digital photos of 2003 are totally intact in all of my three copies. And if  I detect corruption on one bad file/photo, which file is the correct one?

So I’m investigating this issue, and one of the tools available to create checksums and then to verify if everything is ok and no corruption has appeared is the md5deep and hashdeep programs. These are available as sources at this link: http://md5deep.sourceforge.net/start-hashdeep.html

These are the instructions for cross compiling these tools for the ARM based Synology DS212+. As usual this is done on a Linux Desktop/server machine.

1st) Set up the cross-compiling environment: Check out this link on the topic: https://primalcortex.wordpress.com/2015/01/04/synology-ds-crosscompiling-eclipseibm-rsmb-mqtt-broker/

2nd) Setting up the cross compiling environment variables is now a bit different:

export INSTALLDIR=/usr/local/arm-marvell-linux-gnueabi
export PATH=$INSTALLDIR/bin:$PATH
export TARGETMACH=arm-marvell-linux-gnueabi
export BUILDMACH=i686-pc-linux-gnu
export CROSS=arm-marvell-linux-gnueabi
export CC=${CROSS}-g++
export LD=${CROSS}-ld
export AS=${CROSS}-as
export AR=${CROSS}-ar
export GCC=${CROSS}-g++
export CXX=${CROSS}-g++

We will use the C++ compiler.

3rd) Create a working directory and clone the repository to your local machine: git clone https://github.com/jessek/hashdeep.git
4th) Change to the hashdeep directory and execute the following commands:

[pcortex@pcortex:hashdeep]$ sh bootstrap.sh
[pcortex@pcortex:hashdeep]$ ./configure –host=arm-marvell-linux-gnueabi
[pcortex@pcortex:hashdeep]$ make

And that’s it. If everything went well then at hashdeep/src directory the commands are available:

[pcortex@pcortex:src]$ file hashdeep
hashdeep: ELF 32-bit LSB executable, ARM, EABI5 version 1 (SYSV), dynamically linked, interpreter /lib/ld-linux.so.3, for GNU/Linux 2.6.16, not stripped

We can now copy the commands to the DiskStation and start using them.

Now all I need is to devise a method that creates and checks each year photo hash/signatures, and warns me if a difference is detected. I’m thing on using the audit mode of the hashdeep command, and do each day a check for one year, for example, on Mondays check 2003 and 2013, on Tuesday check 2004 and 2014 and so on.

Leave a Reply

