Rising from the ashes: NSLU2

Despite having a Synology Diskstation DS212+ for storing my data (photos, videos and PC/laptop backups), I also backup that data to an external disk connected to my faithful Linksys NSLU2 bought in 2005 using rsync from the Diskstation.

The NSLU2 is flashed ith the openSlug 5.3Beta firmware since 2009 (when it came out), with the operating system installed in a crappy 2GB SD card.

But this weekend due to a power failure, the NSLU2 failed to boot up. It kept the amber led blinking signalling that it couldn’t forward from the initial stages of booting up.

Using my desktop computer, I’ve FSCK’ed the external disk filesystem, that had some inconsistencies, nothing serious (most of the time it is dormant), and FSCK’ed the SD card, and, well, most of the /etc and /var directory where gone.

Due to having a backup of the SD card (these things die…), I’ve recovered the /etc directory, but still the NSLU2 didn’t boot.

Booting up without SD card, the NSLU2 did finish booting up, but it wouldn’t ping, neither the original IP address (192.168.1.77) neither the configured IP address. All I had on my Linux machine was incomplete at the arp table…

nslu2 (191.168.1.32) at <incomplete> [ether] on enp4s0f2

Not good….

I’ve flashed it again with the openSlug firmare, but still I was unable to ssh to it so I could initialize. Because I was able to flash it again with the upslug2 tool, it mean that the ethernet port was ok, and probably everything was ok, except the NVRAM settings that define the ip address where pretty much corrupted… Let’s hope that.

So the solution was to boot into RedBoot and erase the NVRAM (http://www.nslu2-linux.org/wiki/HowTo/ResetSysConf) with the following command: fis erase -f 0x50040000 -l 0x20000  (Attention to this command!!!! Don’t get it wrong)

And then upgrade from the RedBoot interface. The original Linksys firmware was flashed and after rebooting this firmware initialized the NVRAM with default settings: IP address 192.168.1.77, and bingo, ping works, and I can access the original Linksys Web Interface. On the web interface I’ve configured the old IP address, DNS, host name, and so on, and rebooted.

After reseting the NVRAM from redboot you must install the original Linksys firmware, because the openSlug doesn’t initialize the NVRAM.

Everything was fine, and the NSLU2 was working on the new IP. From this point on I’ve just flashed again the openSlug firmware, and formatted the SD Card (turnup with the memstick otion), and configured everything again (crontab, ntpclient and rsync daemon).

In no time I had the Diskstation again backing up to the NSLU2 external disk.

So, welcome again NSLU2 🙂

Leave a Reply

