Synology and MyDS Quickconnect

The issue: Quickconnect doesn’t work

After upgrading to the latest DSM version 5.0, it took a while to notice that my quickconnect id that I had chosen was not working…

On the DSM Control Panel, if I tried to change and apply the settings it gave a Unknow Error. On the logs, the only message related to the Quickconnect settings was network error: -23, and that was it…

On the myds site, my DS status was red, and clicking on the Quickconnect ID just gave a page that said that my DS was offline or with no network connection, but clicking on the host name just worked fine.

Using the Apps with the hostname and/or IP worked fine, just not with the Quickconnect ID.

The solution:

I don’t have a solution that might work for everyone, but the steps that I’ve taken solved the issue for me.

First on MyDS site I deleted the hostname, and on the DS Control Panel on DDNS settings I tried to register it again. This failed as said that the hostname doesn’t exist…

So, I also deleted the entry for the DDNS Synology provider and configured it again. I needed to enter again my login credentials to the MyDS site, and my hostname again.

This time, it worked, and on the MyDS page the hostname (after I deleted it from there) appeared again. Still clicking on the Quickconnect Id failed.

So, again on the DS Control Panel I went to the QuickConnect on Control Panel, and this time it said that I need to register a QuickConnect ID, so, I registered again my ID, providing the MyDS site credentials, and ID. And it worked.

Now my Quickconnect ID works and DDNS name also works.

The status of my DS on the MyDS site remained red for a large period of time, but at the end it turned green. Also clicking on the Quickconnect ID now works and gives me access to the Web frontend of DS.

This was quite a suprise for me as I didn’t expected to have the Web Administration console available to the internet.

I’ll have to see how to block this.

tl;dr:

Delete your DDNS configuration and register it again. Register again the QuickConnect ID.

4 thoughts on “Synology and MyDS Quickconnect

    • Hi:

      No, I don’t have those issues.

      The issue can have two causes:

      – Your Synology is too slow (not probable)
      – You internet connection is ADSL, and so your upload speed is very slow.

      I have optical fiber at home with 5Mbps upload speed, so it’s fast…

  1. I can’t locate QuickConnect in my control panel. How do I retrieve it? Is it possible to update my DS213j with new software updates without QuickConnect and if so how?

    • Well I’m running the latest version of DSM 5 on my DS212+, and opening the Control panel under Conectivity I have directly the Quick Connect icon.

      If after opening the Quick Connect id, you don’t have one defined, just fill up with a name that you like, and presto: it’s your QC id from now.

Leave a Reply

