Dokuwiki error

Quick post:

If by any chance, on Linux, you have the following error: The datadir (‘pages‘) does not exist, isn’t accessible or writable. You should check your config and permission settings.

The easiest way to check it is to do:

1) Goto root: sudo -s

2) Goto the web server user, normally www-data is the user used by Apache and lighttpd: su – www-data

4) Transverse the directory until reaching the pages directory: cd /; cd dir1; cd dir2 and so on

5) Somewhere when transversing the directories the permission error will pop-up when doing the cd command without enough privileges (the reason for the issue). To solve the issue, exit to the root user and correct the permissions to the user www-data on the affected directory.

2 thoughts on “Dokuwiki error

  1. Thanks. My dokuwiki was giving me the error after I transferred the filese from a failed system to a new PC. I changed the owner for all the files to www-data and now I can access the wiki again. (chown -R www-data:www-data *)

  2. I did all the above and it was not working. I finally restart apache (apachectl restart) and it started working. Very strange, but I thought I’d share.

Leave a Reply

