Kubuntu 10.10 with KDE 4.6 and full screen flash video

After upgrading to KDE 4.6 on Kubuntu 10.10 I started to have some problems on startup, namely some Dbus errors, unable to logout, systray applets not starting, and so on. For clearing it up, I erased my profile (mv .kde .kde_old EDIT:  DO THIS ONLY IF you don NOT care about your  KDE data. DO NOT DELETE if you want to revert the operation) and rebooted.

So at logon time a new profile was created, and the errors that I had where gone. The only issue was that I had to configure my workspace again.

Trouble hits when I tried to see a full screen flash video, namely 1080p or 720p and it stutters badly. Previously I had no such problem. Logging out and logging in with my wife’s profile, the issue was gone… Strange indeed… Did a lot of install/remove/install of flash plug-in, but nothing that I did solved the issue. But installing a version of Flash Plugin that I did KNOW for sure that it worked full screen didn’t also solved the issue, I know that my problem was something else..

To keep the story short, as I’m not a great writer or blogger, there is one setting that needs to be changed on KDE to allow full screen flash to work fine (at least for me):

1) Goto System Settings

2) Select Desktop Effects

3) Select Advanced

4) Unselect (! yes unselect) Suspend Desktop effects for full screen windows. Apply and done.

Now it works fine for me. By the way, I’m using an i920 with ATI 4870 proprietary drivers and 64 bit Kubuntu.

2 thoughts on “Kubuntu 10.10 with KDE 4.6 and full screen flash video

  1. I’ve seen that option and wondered when it would be useful so thanks for that.

    However I suggest caution in removing the .kde folder. I’ve seen that advice in a few places and it can be problematic. Many kde apps store data in .kde/share/apps/ e.g. kjots and amarok. A better option is to remove or rename .kde/sahre/config/. Of course its even better if you can find the appropriate config file in there.

    • Hi!

      Thanks for your input, and you’re right. Moving to the side the .kde/share/config folder is far better than moving out all .kde folder. Thanks to you, one of the issues that popped out immediately was that Kmail disconnected data is on the .kde folder, and moving it out will make Kmail download all data again, a time consuming operation…

Leave a Reply

