ASUS VH242H

I’ve just bought one of these ASUS monitor: the VH242H… It’s an huge amazing quality monitor, with all the needed requirements that I was seeking: HDMI for connecting my Canon Legria HF200 and integrated columns to clear desk space, and of course big screen…

I’m using Kubuntu 9.04, and it recognized the monitor and the resolution of 1920×1080 without any problem with the drivers 9.7 from ATI (64 bits).  Sound is more than OK for my use, much better than I was thinking based on the net reviews…

At first, the image quality was not very convicing, but I’ve found out that the monitor comes with over sharpness. On the  Sharpness menu it was set around 52 and so letters had this bright shadow on them. I’ve pull it down to 27, and it solved all the image quality problems. So no problems at all.

Recommended!

Leave a Reply

